Dennis Onyango Crowned in South Africa

If there is a Ugandan player who has enjoyed relative success in the just concluded season then it has to be first choice goal keeper Dennis Onyango.

The calm and composed goalie was named the Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season in a lively and colourful PSL Awards on Monday night at Emperors Palace.

With his 14 clean sheets and stunning saves, for sale Onyango was able to brush off competition from Bidvest Wits’ goalie Josephs Moeneeb and Shu-aib Walters of MP Black Aces who were the other nominees in this category. The gong comes with R50, doctor 000 (approximately UGX 10M).

However, stuff he missed out on the Telekom cup tournament best player to his teammate Thabo Nthethe.

Sundowns hit the 71 points mark to claim their seventh local title and complete a remarkable double after earlier winning the Telekom cup in December.

Onyango arrived in style at the event

Onyango arrived in style at the event

Continental assignments.

The Tshwane team has a chance for a treble this time round after being reinstated back to the 2016 Caf champions league group stages after AS Vita, who beat them on the away goal rule, were disqualified for fielding an ineligible player in an earlier game.

They are pooled against Nigeria’s Enyimba, Zamalek (Egypt) and ES Setif.

But just before that, Dennis Onyango has to rush to Zimbabwe on Tuesday morning to join with the Cranes team for a friendly against the natives same day and later a ‘must-win’ clash against Botswana on Saturday in the Afcon 2017 qualifiers.

Full list of the PSL Award Winners:

FOOTBALLER OF THE SEASON – Khama Billiat (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa Premiership Player’s Player of the Season – Khama Billiat (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa Premiership Top Goal Scorer – Collins Mbesuma (MP Black Aces)

Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season – Dennis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa Premiership Defender of the Season – Thabo Nthethe (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season – Khama Billiat (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa-lutely Awesome Goal – Ben Motshwari (Bidvest Wits) vs Chippa: 10/01/2016

Absa Premiership Young Player of the Season – Aubrey Maphosa Modiba (MP Black Aces)

Absa Premiership Coach of the Season – Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

National First Division Top Goal Scorer – Thabiso Kutumela (Baroka FC)

Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament – Thabo Nthethe (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Nedbank Cup Young Player of Tournament – Ndivhuwo Ravhuhali (Baroka FC)

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament – Jeremy Brockie (SuperSport United)

MTN8 Last Man Standing – Cecil Lolo (Ajax Cape Town)

MultiChoice Diski Challenge Player Of The Season – Sibusiso Sibeko (Lamontville Golden Arrows)

MultiChoice Diski Challenge Top Goal Scorer – Emmanuel Letlotlo (Kaizer Chiefs)

Referee of the Season – Thando Ndzandzeka

Assistant Referee of the Season – Zakhele Siwela


Header advertisement
To Top