Cranes Star Onyango Named CAF Player of the Year

Uganda Cranes first choice goalie, cost Denis Onyango is the 2016 CAF player of the year based in the continent.

The burly keeper was crowned on Friday, link December 6 at a colorful function held in Abuja, adiposity Nigeria.

Onyango has been instrumental in Uganda Cranes’ qualification to the 2017 Africa cup of Nations, a fete that arrived after 39 years of waiting.

He also helped his club Mamelodi Sundowns to their maiden CAF champions league title on top of a premier soccer league championship and the 2016 MTN super 8 cup. He was also drafted in the best team of the year.

Mamelodi Sundowns were crowned the best club in 2016 with tactician Pitso Mosimane walking home with the coach of the year award.

Algeria and Leicester City star Riyadh Mahrez emerged the best player (overall) dethroning Gabon skipper Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Liverpool sensational forward Sadio Mane.

Super Eagles youngster Kelechi Iheanacho won the most promising talent of the year while compatriot Alex Iwobi who plies trade for Arsenal was named the youth player of the year.

Gambian center referee Bakary Papa Gassama completed a hat trick after he was named the best in the trade for a third year running.

Summary of awards;
Women’s Player Of The Year – Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Arsenal Ladies)
Most Promising Talent – Kelechi Iheanacho (Nigeria & Manchester City)
Youth Player of the Year – Alex Iwobi (Nigeria and Arsenal)
Coach of the Year – Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)
Club of the Year – Mamelodi Sundowns
Referee of the Year – Bakary Papa Gassama

Africa Finest XI –
Goalkeeper: Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
Defenders: Serge Aurier (Cote D’ivoire & Paris Saint-Germain), Aymen Abdennour (Tunisia & Valencia), Eric Bailly (Cote D’ivoire & Manchester United), Joyce Lomalisa (Dr Congo & As Vita)
Midfielders: Khama Billiat (Zimbabwe & Mamelodi Sundowns), Rainford Kalaba (Zambia & Tp Mazembe), Keegan Dolly (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns),
Forwards: Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund), Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool), Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Leicester City)
Subs: Aymen Mathlouthi (Tunisia & Etoile Du Sahel), Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli), Salif Coulibaly (Mali & Tp Mazembe), Islam Slimani (Algeria & Leicester City), Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Roma), Kelechi Iheanacho (Nigeria & Manchester City), Alex Iwobi (Nigeria And Arsenal)

Header advertisement

Header advertisement
To Top