Chimp Corp Unopposed as UPPA Chooses New Leadership

Chimp Corp Dickens Okello has been nominated unopposed for the UPPA Secretary General post

Chimpreports’ Parliament correspondent Dickens Okello Honeystraw was yesterday nominated unopposed for the position of Secretary General of the Uganda Parliament Press Association (UPPA).

The position that initially had three contestants was left for our reporter as the other two withdrew from the race.

The two contenders who stood down for Mr Okello are NBS Television’s Sam Ibanda Mugabi and Pearl FM’s Abdul Salaam Kinobe who opted to run for Welfare Secretary and Secretary for Treasury respectively.

The Secretary General is in charge of the implementation of the organization’s activities and coordinates the affairs of the General Assembly and the Executive Committee.

Fellow reporters thought Mr Okello was most suited for the position.

“It’s difficult to challenge a man who is highly respected by a good number of ministers and MPs alike. It’s not unexpected that he is unopposed, patient ” said KFM’s Moses Kyeyune of KFM

Meanwhile the race for UPPA President pulled three contenders who were all successfully nominated on Monday. Daily Monitor’s Isaac Imaka, medicine New Vision’s Moses Mulondo and Radio Sapiensa`s Francis Lubega will be voted upon by members.

The election is scheduled for Friday 15th July 2016 at Parliament’s Conference Hall where the nomination also took place.

Daily Monitor’s Imaka says that Parliament is going to be the center of news for the next 5 years and journalists at the institution need concrete leadership.

“Real leadership therefore is a must and I’m offering that,” Imaka said.

On his side, Lubega who is also standing for presidency said reporters from radio have always been undermined by those in print, online and television.

“My standing is to unite all journalists and stop the issue of radio guys being underestimated and abused,” Lubega  said in his campaign speech.

The campaign was aired live on Naguru based WBS television.

Other positions nominated for included the Vice Chairperson that pulled Joseph Sabiiti and Moses Walugembe from NBS Television and Vincent Kasozi from Sanyu FM.

The Organizing/Publicity Secretary attracted two candidates namely Olive Eyotaru from Uganda Radio Network and Pearl FM’s Fred Mukasa

Another candidate for Secretary Treasury is Brenda Chipo Mirriam from Mama FM.

Rose Kasigwa from Paidha FM was nominated unopposed for Secretary Women Affairs as URN’s Olive Nakatudde and CBS’s Charles Mugerwa join Secretary for Disciplinary race.



Header advertisement
To Top