Cheptegei, Chelangant Shine at National Cross Country Championships

The IAAF world cross country championship is slated for 26th March with over 700 athletes expected.

With the 2017 IAAF world cross country championships drawing closer, case preparations for the event are in high gear especially for hosts Uganda.

Kampala city will host the 42nd edition of the world cross championships at Kololo ceremonial grounds expected to start on 26th March.

Unlike the previous national cross championships that were held upcountry especially in Jinja, stuff this time round Uganda Athletic Federation hosted the event in Kololo, approved Kampala on Saturday to serve both as qualifiers and test event for the world cross country championships.

Youngster Joshua Cheptegei emerged winner in the men’s (senior) category beating off stiff competition from Prison’s and defending champion Phillip Kipyeko who finished second ,22 seconds behind Cheptegei while Mande Abdallah settled for third.

Cheptegei spent most of the time in the first lap in the middle of the park but surged up in the second lap to join the leading group.

The 2014 world U20 10,000m champion however broke away from the field to eventually win the race clocking 29:02 minutes. Kipyeko came 2nd at 29:24 whilst Mande Abdallah posted 29:40 in third. 2012 Marathon winner Stephen Kiprotich finished fourth.

In the ladies senior category, Police’s Mercyline Chelangant emerged winner clocking 34:41 minutes ahead of Rachael Chebet and Dorcus Ajok who finished second and third respectively.

Jacob Kiplimo from Arua won the men’s junior 8km race clocking 23:25:23 while Abel Cheney and Victor Kiplagat finished second and third posting 23:53:23 and 23:54:23 respectively.

Police dominated the women’s 6km junior category taking all the podium finishes. Peruth Chemutai , Janet Chemusto and Esther Chekomoi finished in that order.

Senior men (10km)

1 Joshua Cheptegei 29:02

2 Phillip Kipyeko 29:24

3 Abdallah Kibet Mande 29:40

4 Timothy Toroitich 29:42

5 Stephen Kiprotich 29:46

6 Stephen Kiisa 29:53

7 Fred Musobo 29:55

8 Mande Bushendich 30:04

9 Peter Kibet 30:13

10 Filex Chemonges 30:18

Senior women (10km)

1 Mercyline Chelangat 34:41

2 Rachael Chebet 35:16

3 Dorcus Ajok 35:46

4 Doreen Chesang 35:54

5 Doreen Chemutai 35:56

6 Annet Chebet 36:16

7 Juliet Chekwel 36:38

8 Stella Chesang 36:46

9 Prim Twikirize 37:00

10 Sarah Akiror 37:03

U20 men

1 Jacob Kiplimo 23:25

2 Titus Kwemoi 23:53

3 Victor Kiplangat 23:54

4 Elisha Chemutai 24:03

5 Kevin Kibet 24:04

U20 women

1 Peruth Chemutai 20:20

2 Janat Chemusto 20:39

3 Esther Chekwemoi 21:08

4 Sarah Chelangat 21:20

5 Scarlett Chemos 22:0


Header advertisement
To Top