Cecafa W: Uganda Lose Opener to Kenya

Kenya's Starlets (Green) beat the Cranes last week

Kenya’s Harambee starlets have gained early advantage in the ongoing Cecafa women championship following an easy 4-0 win over hosts Uganda Crested Cranes in the second fixture played on the opening day at the Fufa technical centre in Njeru.

Uganda had lost by a similar margin last month in Kisumu and looked vulnerable as early as the ninth minute when Nedy Atieno squeezed through Wanyana and Nakitto to fire a strong shot directly into Arturo’s arms.

Easy Akida was again in point a minute later after a splitting pass from Sallano with Sseninde making a timely tackle which was awarded for a freekick just at the edge of the box.

Header advertisement

The Crested Cranes failed to make a memorable break into the opponents half by the fifth minute with the Kenyans forcing them in the back peddle at every attempted try to move.

Wendy Achieng made another close call for Kenya after floating in a well curled freekick which hit the upper side of the post for a goal kick.

Akida launched the goal festival in the 22nd following a successful tackle on her left wing before she burst down the space into Cranes box and set up captain Mary Kinuthia to tap in the opener. The result remained unchanged to the break.

Ease Akida completed a goal for herself with a beautiful spinning shot just four minutes into the second period. second half substitute Vivian Corazon  triples the result a dozen minutes to time and Akida completed the rout in the 89th.

Uganda face Zanzibar on Tuesday after Burundi and Kenya have sorted their stands.

Uganda XI: Aturo Ruth, nurse Christine Santana, store Nakayenze Yudaya, pharmacy Gladys Nakitto, Stellah Nassuna, Jean Sseninde, ,Zaina Namuleme, Name Nagadya, Hasifa Nassuna, Laki Otandeka, Winnie Babibrye

Sub’s: Fatima Namatovu, Joan Nakirya, Tracy Akiror, Shakira Nalwoga, Nabosa Riticia, Sandra Nantumbwe.

Kenya XI: Vivian Akinyi, Ann Oluoch, Wendy Achieng, Irene Oguttu, Nixon Shikobe, Carolyne Anyangoa, Easy Akida, Salano Cheris, Neddy Atieno, Doreen Nabwire, Mary Wanjiku.


Header advertisement
To Top