CECAFA W: Tanzania Top Group B after Controversial Coin Toss

Losa Labera tackled by Tanzania defenders

Tanzania emerged the table leaders of group B in the ongoing CECAFA women’s championship after winning a controversial coin toss that followed a barren draw against Ethiopia.

The two entered match day three tied on three points, visit this same goal difference (+1) after they registered identical 3-2 victories against Rwanda in their respective group openers.

On Friday they drew blanks and were required to toss the coin to separate the two sides for purposes of semifinals draws as per the tournament regulations.

Match commissioner Agnes Mugena tosses the coin as both captains watch

Match commissioner Agnes Mugena tosses the coin as both captains watch

The game’s match commissioner Agnes Mugena advanced to the center circle and ordered the captains to step forward for the exercise while advising the rest of the team members to leave the pitch.

According to the toss outcome, Tanzania’s side had fallen on top and thus making them automatically making them the group winners. However Ethiopia objected the outcome and asked the match Commissioner to use drawing of lots as an alternative way.

The officials stood their grounds and declared Tanzania the winners thus slated to face Uganda in the last four.

“This is totally unfair to us, the match commissioner should have written on papers and allow the two teams to pick at random. We don’t feel she handled this scenario in the best possible way for a tournament under a big organization like CECAFA,” coach Manni ranted.

ChimpSport inquired from both coaches if they were aware of such a clause in the tournament rules and regulations but their answer was negative.

“I was also not aware of this regulation until after the match when the referee adviced,” Tanzania representative confessed.

During the match the stadium announcer kept repeating the possible action (toss coin) in case the game ended in a draw.

Tanzania: Fatuma Omari, Sophia Mwasikili (60′ Amina Ally), Anastacia Anton, Maimuna Khamis, Fadhilla Hamad (26′ Sheridan Boniface), Fatima Isa, Daniel Donisia, Hapy Henzron (68′ Anna Hebron),  Wema Richard, Stumai Abdalla, Asha Rashid

Ethiopia: Liya Shibru, Birtukan Gebrekirstos (77′ Fikirte Birhanu) Tirunchi Mengesha, Tsion Estifanos, Meskerem Kanko, Etsegenet Bizuneh, Berktawit Girma, Shetaya Sisaya, Losa Abera, Erehima Zekega (82′ Medina Awol).

CR: Irarunga Suavis
1st asst: Docus Atuhaire
2nd asst: Speciose Nyinawabari
4th: Salma Mukansanga
Match Com: Agnes Mugena


Header advertisement
To Top