CAF CC: Wasteful Vipers Held to a Goalless Draw by Volcano di Moroni

Vipers skipper Nicholas Wadada in action. (Photos by: Kenneth Kazibwe/ChimpReports)

CAF Confederation Cup
Preliminary round, pills first leg
Vipers 0-0 Volcano Clube di Moroni

Uganda’s representative in the CAF Confederation Cup, Vipers Sports Club were held to a barren draw in the first leg of the preliminary round played on Saturday at Mandela national stadium.

Vipers despite creating several scoring chances failed to utilise them and to break down a resilient Volcano di Moroni who decided to play deeper within their half right from onset.

Milton Kalisa, Tony Odur and Erisa Ssekisambu  were all culpable on the day failing to put away chances especially during the opening 45 minutes.

Faiz Oussseine, the Moroni’s goalkeeper denied Tonny Odur with an acrobatic save stretching to tip a goal bound ball in the 20th minute.

It was a battle for supremacy.

It was a battle for supremacy.

Kalisa and Waiswa got successive chances at the half hour mark but both missed find the target firing wide.

Moroni opted for an early change introducing Andre Razafy for Kaptche Gbaloe Landry.

The frustration even grew more in the second stanza with Moroni opting to play more players behind the ball.

Vipers kept floating the ball inside the visitor’s goal area but Moroni always won possession on the aerial crosses.

Deus Bukenya had two chances to break the deadlock deep in stoppage time but goalkeeper Faiz Ousseine was in position to save the attempts.

The two sides meet in a week’s time from now for the return leg in Comoros and the winner on aggregate take on either Platinum stars or Uniso Do Songo of Mozambique.

Erisa Ssekisambu battles for the ball with a Comoros defender.

Erisa Ssekisambu battles for the ball with a Comoros defender.

Vipers starting XI

Ismail Watenga, Nicholas Wadada, Dan Bilikwalira, Shafik Bakaki, Halid Lwaliwa, Deus Bukenya, Moses Waiswa (69′ Ibrahim Kayiwa), Keziron Kizito (85′ Francis Onekalit), Erisa Ssekisambu (59′ Brian Kakaire), Tonny Odur

Volcan De Moroni starting XI

Faiz Ousseine, Abuddahlah Hamid Ahmed El Makoun, Ali Moidjei, Habibu Yousouf, Abderemane Mounir, Simba Ali Andhumdine, Kaptche Gbaloe Landry (25′ Razafy Andre), Authoumani Al ha dhur(77′ Nabil Ali), Kamre Djabira, Ibrobim Youssouf


Most Popular

Header advertisement
To Top