Bumate Edge Kitara to Book Last Ticket to Big League

Bumate FC from Bundibugyo overcame Airtel Kitara FC to seal the eighth and final promotional spot to next year’s Fufa Big League season.

Eight teams qualify from each of the octadic Fufa demarcated regions.

Bumate edged the Hoima side 6-5 after penalty shootouts following an even four goal thrilling stalemate played at the Christ school grounds, abortion Nyahuka in Bundibugyo district.

The Kitara champions had eliminated Kasokwa FC 3-2 earlier in the semifinals playoffs while Kitara FC rolled over Kyarusozi Cats with a 4-1 margin to reach finals.

Big League Format.

The Fufa big league is the country’s second tier competition divided into two groups Rwenzori and Elgon.

The best teams in the two groups qualify to the premier league while plus one other team that stands out in promotion playoffs. The second and third best in each group face off in the knockout playoffs.

Four bottom placed teams in each group drop to the regional league and are replaced by the same number from the eight regions.

Relegated teams

Lira United, CRO FC and Bukeddea finished below the red line in the Elgon region while Kira Young was demoted to the fourth division for failing to honor three fixtures.

Wandegeya, Citizen and Kasese New Villa suffered the same fate in the Rwenzori group as cash strapped Masaka LC FC pulled out.

Promoted teams per Fufa regions.

Kampala – Kyambogo FC.

Buganda – Kira United FC

Northern – Bright Light stars FC (Lira)

North Eastern – Moroto FC

Eastern – Kataka FC (Mbale)

West Nile – Dove All Stars (Arua)

Western – Nyamityabora FC.

Kitara – Bumate FC (Bundibugyo)

Header advertisement

Header advertisement
To Top