BEACH SOCCER: MUBS Edge Past Muteesa to Clinch 3rd Title

MUBS players celebrate after winning the trophy (Photo by Fufa Media)

Final (Men) : MUBS 8-6 Mutesa I Royal University (After extra time)

Final (Women): Muteesa I Royal B 3-2 Muteesa I Royal University A

Third place play off (Men) : Nkumba Select 5-4 YMCA

Makerere University Business School (MUBS) needed a late surge to edge past a resilient Muteesa I Royal University and lift the 2016/17 national beach soccer title.

In a thrilling final played at Lido Beach resort in Entebbe on Sunday, normal time ended in a 6-6 draw
before MUBS scored two goals in extra time, to eventually win the game 8-6.

MUBS coached by Charles Ayieko scored through Isma Kawawulo, Elvis Kasujja, Benson Ocen (two goals apiece) while the other was an own goal by Mutesa I Royal University captain Primo Kimera.

Muteesa on the other hand scored through Julius Rulinda (2), Primo Kimera (2) and a goal each from Paul Lule and Paul Kato.

MUBS triumph meant they won the title for the third time, more than any other team. They had previously won it in 2012 and 2015.
Nkumba Select, who were the defending champions settled for 3rd after defeating YMCA 5-4 in the third place playoff.

In the women category, it was all Muteesa I Royal University affair with two teams reaching the final.
Mutesa B defeated Muteesa A 3-2 to win the women trophy. Sharon Namatovu scored twice for
Muteesa A but that was not enough as Muteesa B scored through Precious Najjemba (2) and Dorah Nakimuli.

Individual winners:
Top scorer: Benson Ocen (MUBS) – 33 Goals
Top Scorer (Women) : Sharon Namatovu (Muteesa– 7 Goals)

MVP (Men) :
Paul Lule (Muteesa I Royal University)

MVP (Women) : Habiba Nakayobyo (Muteesa

Fair play (Men) : YMCA

Fair play (Women) : Entebbe Ladies

Best Goalkeeper (Men) : Nasser Lwamunda (Muteesa I Royal University)

Best goal keeper (Women) : Daisy Nakaziro

Best Coach (Men) :
Tonny Ssebagala (Muteesa I Royal University)

Best coach (Women) : Herbert Luboyera (Muteesa I Royal University)

Best Print Media: Denis Bbosa West (Daily Monitor)

Best Online Media:
David Isabirye (Kawowo Sports)

Best TV Media: Uthuman Ssempebwa (UBC TV)

Past Winners

2017: MUBS
2016 – Nkumba Select
2015 – MUBS
2014 – Kira Young
2013 – St. Lawrence
2012 – MUBS
2011 – Kabalagala Rangers
2010 – Braza Braza
2009 – Tinka

Header advertisement


Header advertisement
To Top