AWCON 2016: CAF Reveal Date for Draws

Kenya's Harambee starlets celebrating after edging out Algeria to qualify

Continental football body CAF has announced that the draws for the 2016 Africa women cup of nations (AWCON) will be held on September 18 in Yaoundé, generic Cameroon.

A total of eight teams qualified for the tournament including CECAFA neighbors Kenya who went through the qualification ties edging Algeria 3-3 in the second round.

DR Congo had previously withdrawn from taking part giving the Kenyans a free way where they qualified without a single win.

Header advertisement

Tanzania are the only other team from the region that took part but lost 3-2 on aggregate to Zimbabwe.

Uganda and Rwanda did not register for the tournament.

This year’s edition will be hosted in Cameroon between November 19 and December 3.

It will be the first since CAF changed the name of the tournament from the African Women’s Championship to the Africa Women Cup of Nations last year on August 6.

Qualified teams

Cameroon qualified as tournament hosts and will be joined by Egypt, website like this Ghana, Kenya, Mali, South Africa, Zimbabwe as well as Nigeria who are also the record holders and defending champions.


Header advertisement
To Top