AUPL: Vipers Defeat Lweza in Entebbe Road Derby

Vipers ascended to third position on the log, displacing Onduparaka FC

Uganda Premier League
Vipers 2-0 Lweza

Vipers Sports Club earned derby bragging rights over rivals Lweza with a convincing 2-0 win on Tuesday.

In a game played at Mandela National stadium, ask Vipers put up an incredible performance to complete a double against Lweza in the Entebbe road derby.

Second half goals from Tonny Odur and combative midfielder Deus Bukenya ensured the Kitende based side earned victory.

Vipers endured a barren first half with Lweza opting to sit back and defend from deep within their own half.

Debutant Milton Kalisa who joined Vipers in January almost got the two time league winners ahead as early as the 3rd minute jumping high to notch a header but goalkeeper Milton Kalisa stretched to par the ball away.

Despite several attempts from Odur, more about Erisa Ssekisambu and Mike Sserumaga, capsule Vipers failed to break the deadlock squandering several chances.

Head coach Richard Wasswa, handed exciting midfielder Moses Waiswa his debut for Vipers replacing Mike Sserumaga who struggled after suffering a knock midway through the first half.

Tonny Odur gave the hosts a deserved lead in the 49th minute tapping home from close range Milton Kalisa’s cross from the right flank.

There was another debut for youngster Francis Onekalit who was promoted from the junior side coming on for Erisa Ssekisambu two minutes to the hour mark.

Industrious midfielder Deus Bukenya doubled the lead for the venoms scoring from a Moses Waiswa corner kick.

Bukenya stretched to tap Waiswa’s cross from the corner kick past goalkeeper Ivan Mutumba.

The result means Vipers ascend to third position on 27 points dispensing Onduparaka who have 25 points.

Lweza on the other hand are 9th on the logo with 18 points.

Vipers starting XI

Ismail Watenga, Nicholas Wadada, Dan Bilikwalira, Shafik Bakaki, Halid Lwaliwa, Deus Bukenya, Milton Kalisa, Keziron Kizito, Tonny Odur, Erisa Ssekisambu, Mike Sserumaga

Lweza starting XI

Ivan Mutumba, Sula Bagala, Moses Nsubuga Asuman Buyinza, Sulaiman Ochero, Lawrence Kigonya, Manko Kaweesa, Sempa Charles, Ronald Muganga, Francis Ssembatya, Owen Kasule


Header advertisement
To Top