AUPL: JMC, Kirinya Renew Foes in Epic Derby Battle

Allan Drajua of Jinja SS shields the ball from Onduparaka's Gadaffi Gadinho.

The entry of Kirinya Jinja SS FC means that fans in Jinja town will be served with a dozen derbies all together.

The school boys join BUL FC, stomach Sadolin and JMC Hippos.

However, medications their first derby is on Tuesday with probably their bitterest nemesis JMC Hippos whose rivalry dates back to the big league.

The two first met in September 2013 in Kirinya’s first ever match in the second division ending one all at Jinja SS playground with the students having to come from down to rescue a point.

Going into the last match day of the season, there JMC Hippos needed a win to consolidate the last promotion playoff spot, their town rivals were a point away.

Kirinya nicked in an 87th minute equalizer to the surprise of their hosts who were comfortably wasting time to protect their goal.

A year later in the 2014/15 season, the two clubs found themselves in the playoffs finals at Lugogo. JMC had scratched Masaka LC 1-0 while the school boys overcame water FC 5-6 in penalties following a barren semis. Kirinya went through their worst humiliation of all times; a 6-2 demolition!

Aggrey Madoi scored a brace to add on Wandyaka, Ambrose Kirya, Rajab and Jimmy Jalendo’s strikes. Only the latter two are around even though may not be fit enough for the tie. Jalendo suffered a knock in preseason while Rajab is still nursing a concussion.

Musa Magumba and John Wakalaita Consoled Jinja SS and are likely to take part in the game on Tuesday.

James Odoch was on the touchline in that 6-2 win and will be on tonight.

“To me it’s just a normal game where we need points. History is made every day. I expect to make some changes in my defense after some lapse cost us against KCCA,” he said.

Coach Alex Isabirye faced Odoch with JMC Hippos twice last season but only managed a one point out of six while he was at Bul FC. Both games were played at Kakindu, Tuesday’s venue.

Possible lineups.

JMC Hippos – B. Wagima (GK), A. Bajjampola, E. Bageya, C. Nalumonso, M. Walangarira, H. Kakande, K. Kato, D. Shabena, M. Ssemanda, M. Batali, V. Sekajugo

Kirinya – T. Ikara, A. Drajua, L. Mulondo, G. Kasonko, M. Kawooya, G. Akol, M. Magumba, J. Otim, D. Kiiza, J. Wakalaita, J. Madondo.


Header advertisement
To Top