AUPL: Bright Stars Hold Vipers in Dull Barren Stalemate

Vipers starting lineup in a previous game (photo by Vipers Media)

Uganda Premier League
Bright stars 0-0 Vipers

Vipers winning run in the league was brought to a halt on Tuesday after playing out a goalless draw against Bright stars.

In the game played at the bumby Champions stadium, clinic Mwererwe, this the two sides failed find the cutting edge and thus settling for a barren stalemate.

Header advertisement

Whereas Vipers looked the better side going forward, buy more about Bright stars remained resilient and impenetrable at the back to deny the visitors.

The first realistic chance of the game came at the quarter hour mark with a teasing cross from youngster Pius Wangi off the right flank but a timely clearance by Ibrahim Kissa denied Tony Odur on the far end.

Four minutes later,Odur’s low effort just outside the area almost found its ways into the back of the net but goalkeeper Nicholas Ssebwato was lucky with the ball hitting his shoulder before going out for a corner.

There was nothing to write about for the rest of the minutes to halftime with the teams returning to the dressing rooms with no scores.

The best chance of the game came three minutes after recess when Bright stars Emmanuel Jurugo ferocious effort ricocheted off the cross bar with goalkeeper Ismail Watenga already beaten.

Either side called for changes with Erisa Ssekisambu replacing Keziron Kizito while Francis Onekalit came on for the ineffective Pius Wangi. Moments later Frank Tumwesigye also was withdrawn and replaced by Ibrahim Kayiwa.

Bright stars also had changes with lanky forward Joshua Kawadwa called off for Fred Segujja, Methodius Jjungu came on for Emmanuel Jurugo while Ibrahim Kissa was withdrawn for Mubiru Yafessi.

However, the changes did not make any difference with the game eventually ending goalless.

The result means Bright stars move to 10th on the table on 30 points while Vipers remain third on 43 points

Bright stars starting XI

Nicholas Ssebwato, Andrew Kaggwa, Sulaiman Ssebunza, Swaib Acsam, Abdunoor Kanana, Jimmy Kakooza, Emmanuel Jurugo, Ibrahim Kiisa, Joshua Kawadwa, Farouk Banga, Batte Seif

Vipers starting XI

Ismail Watenga, Nicholas Wadada, Dan Bilikwalira, Halid Lwaliwa, Geoffrey Wasswa, Deus Bukenya, Keziron Kizito, Brian Nkuubi, Tony Odur, Frank Tumwesigye, Pius Wangi


Header advertisement
To Top