All Set for National Post Primary Tournament

KCCA FC and Kibuli SS midfielder Allan Okello was the MVP last year

The National Post Primary popularly known as Copa Coca Cola tournament gets underway on Monday with high expectations.

The annual event running for its 15th edition will be hosted in Masaka town where schools from different regions will compete.

After successful regional qualifiers a total of 60 schools made it to the final event that is expected to be thrilling with traditional giants assembling their best arsenal.

Header advertisement

Defending champions Kibuli SS have arguably the star of the tournament in midfielder Allan Okello who plays for KCCA FC in the Uganda Premier League.

Equally, viagra sale St. Mary’s Kitende who have won the title on 8 occasions have several players featuring for Vipers in the league. Among them is electric midfielder Frank Tumwesigye, forward Pius Wangi and U17 MVP Ivan Asaba.

Hosts Masaka Secondary School are also expected to be contenders with players like Ezra Bida and defender Reagan Kasumba.

The Copa Coca-Cola tournament has proved to be one of the biggest schools football tournaments in the country producing several stars like Farouk Miya, Tony Mawejje, Dennis Onyango among others.

The tournament has become a platform for young footballers aspiring to scale greater heights in the sport and, for the boys, some of them have had the opportunity to go for international camps in South Africa where they go through various skill drills designed to improve their game under the guidance of various coaches.

The tournament will run for two weeks in Masaka town with the final expected to be played on 20th May.

Grounds to be used

1. Masaka Recreational,

2. Hill Road PG,

3. Masaka Technical PG,

4. Gayaza

5. Nyendo Kasana

6. Masaka Royal Un

7. St Henrys Kitovu

8. Arena PG

All the groups

Group A:

Nkoma SS, Amus College, Masaka SS, Welden School Mbarara, Jinja SS, Yale High School, Kamwenge SS

Group B:

Soroti Municipal, Kibuli SS, Kibale SS, Jinja Progressive Academy, Boston High, Panyandoli SS, Kigezi High

Group C:

Dynamic SS, Citizen High, Mulusa Academy, Mbale Progressive, Kagadi Academy, Arua SS, Wagwa High

Group D:

Caltec Academy, Nakaseke International, Sebei College, Kasese Muslim, St Gerald’s Nyakibale, Gombe SS, Comboni, College Lira, St Mary’s Kitende

Group E:

Bukoyo SS, Namagabi SS, Pajule SS, Nyangilia SS, St Francis Busunju, Buhobe SS, Bright Light Lira

Group F:

Ryakasinga Che, Kabalega SS, Kijomoro SS, Green Hill Kyamulibwa, Kalaki SS, St Julian, Kakungulu Memorial, Kotido SS

Group G:

King Solomon Tooro, Kabale Brainstorm, St Peter’s Tororo, Layibi College, Blessed Sacrament Kimanya, Old Kampala, Agape SS Busoga

Group H:

Bishop Negri College, Bulo Parents, Aboke SS, Buddo SS, Uganda Martyrs Rubaga, Kiboga Progressive, St Kagwa High


Header advertisement
To Top