Afcon2017 Team Profile: Will the Indomitable Lions of Cameroon Roar in Gabon?

Most of the top players have turned down National Team callups

You cannot write about African football, clinic past or present and miss out on Cameroon. The West African state has produced several football legends for a very long time.

From Roger Milla who took 1990 World cup by storm to Samuel Eto’o who played up to the highest levels of club football shattering scoring records at Barcelona and several other teams.

And the list stretches to François Omam Biyik, information pills Thomas Nkono Rigobert Song, approved Patrick M’boma, Joseph Antoine Bell among others.

Header advertisement

Besides, the Indomitable lions have also wrote success stories including winning 4 African cup of Nations titles and making 7 appearances at the World cup.

Cameroon was the first African team to reach the quarter finals of the World cup in 1990, where an aging Roger Milla took the limelight.

However, the fall from grace to grass of one of the greatest African football teams seems to be coming at a fast rate.

From several internal wrangles to players demanding their salaries, now the team is faced with a challenge of several players snubbing national team call ups.

Already 7 players have turned down the team calls by manager Hugo Bross ahead of the 2017 African cup of Nations in Gabon, the latest being Schalke’s Eric Chouppo Moting.

West Bromwich Albion’s defender, Allan Nyom and Liverpool’s Joel Matip were the first players to turn down the calls.

Andre Onana (Ajax Amsterdam), Guy N’dy Assembe (Nancy), Maxime Poundje (Girondins Bordeaux), Andre-Frank Zambo Anguissa (Olympique Marseille) and Ibrahim Amadou (Lille) also rejected calls to the Cameroon national team.

The question is, will the indomitable lions roar in Gabon as they seek to win the title for the 5th time?

Brief Afcon Background

Cameroon first qualified for African cup of Nations in 1970 in Sudan but failed to go past the group stage phase.

The next edition (1972) was on their home soil but could only settle for third spot after losing to eventual winners DR Congo in the semifinals.

Cameroon’s first title came in 1984 in Ivory Coast and they went ahead to winning more three in 1988 and back to back triumphs in 2000 and 2002.

However performance in the recent editions has been abysmal including failing to qualify for the final tournament in 2012 and 2013.

They couldn’t go past the group stage phase in the last edition (2015) in Equatorial Guinea.

1970- Group stage
1972- Third place
1974-80 -Failed to Qualify
1982- Group stage
1984- Champions
1986-Runners up
1990- Group stage
1992- Fourth place
1994- Failed to qualify
1996- Group stage
1998-Failed to qualify
2000- Champions
2002- Champions
2004- Quarterfinals
2006- Quarterfinals
2008-Runners up
2010- Quarter finals
2012-Failed to qualify
2013- Failed to qualify
2015- Group stage

How they qualified

Cameroon topped group M with 12 points finishing the qualifying campaign unbeaten.

14/Jun/15 Cameroon 1-0 Mauritania
6/Sept/15 Gambia 1-0 Cameroon
26/Mar/16 Cameroon 2-2 South Africa
29/Mar/16 South Africa 0-0 Cameroon
3rd/Sept/16 Cameroon 2-0 Gambia

The Coach| Hugo Bross

Hugo Bross was named the Cameroon head coach in February 2015, replacing Volker Finke who had been sacked in October 2015.

Bross helped Cameroon qualify for the final tournament and the 62 year old Belgian tactician will lead the 4 time winners come 14th January.

The Captain|Stephane Mbia.

The lanky midfielder will lead Cameroon as captain in Gabon.

Cameroon are in group A, alongside hosts Gabon, Burkina Faso and debutants Guinea Bissau.

Provisional squad

Goalkeepers: Fabrice Ondoa, André Onana, Ndy Assembe, Jules Goda, Georges Bokwe

Defenders: Allan Nyom, Henri Bédimo, Aurélien Chedjou, Nicolas Nkoulou, Ambroise Oyongo Collins Faï Djetei Mohammed, Ernest Mabouka, Jonathan Ngwen, Maxime Poundje, Michael Ngadeu, Joël Matip, Adolph Teikeu

Midfielders: Sébastien Siani, Arnaud Djoum, Georges Mandjeck, Zambo Anguissa, Amadou Ibrahim, Franck Kom, Franck Boya

Strikers: Salli Edgar, Clinton Njie, Jacques Zoua, Toko Ekambi, Anatole Abang, Choupo-Moting, Bassogog, Vincent Aboubakar, Benjamin Moukandjo, Ndip Tambe


Header advertisement
To Top