Afcon 2017: Heartbreak as Uganda Crush Out

Hassan Waswa Mawanda wins a battle against Marwan Morsen in Uganda Cranes box as Murshid and Onyango prepare for back up

Second half Substitute Abdallah El Said riffled a late winner for Egypt to dump Uganda Cranes out of the 2017 Africa cup of Nations with a match to spare.

The Cranes held on for 88 minutes with solid display in defense but succumbed to Mohammed Salah’s distinctive skills and intelligence which suddenly unlocked the cryptic code in Micho’s defensive structure with about seven white shirts staring inside the box.

Salah got at the other side of a pass inside the box but opted not to strike directly at the congested goal. The star’s hawk eye saw an onrushing El Said who powered in between Onyango’s -African player of the year- legs. It was OVER for Uganda.

Joseph Ochaya had slammed past El Hadary in the 55th minute from Farouk Miya’s curling cross but was rightly flagged down.

Ramadhan Sobhi and Mohammed Salah had their first half chances repelled. Sobhi intercepted Miya’s intended flick to Mawejje, stuff advanced past Iguma and cut in but his effort had crossed the byline before execution.

Sobhi setup Morsen in the 15th with a splitting pass into the box, hospital Onyango dashed off his line and cleared away.

Onyango was later forced off his territory to head away danger before half time.

Micho made a series of periodical changes in the second half with Shaban, this web Wadada and Ochaya replacing Massa, Miya and Iguma but it was Hector Cuper’s substitution at the hour mark that counted. Goal scorer El Said replaced El Said Hamed.

Uganda will honor their last match against Mali on Wednesday. Mali still have faint hopes- to beat Uganda and expect favour from Ghana.


Egypt: El Hadary, Ahmed Ibrahim, Gabr Mossad, Hegazy, Abdel Shafy, Mohammed Elneny, El Said Hamed (59′ Abdullah El Said), Mahmoud Hassan (79′ Abdel-Monein), Mohammed Salah, Ramadhan Sobhi (66′ Amr Warda), Marwan Mohsen

Uganda: Denis Onyango, Denis Iguma (90+1 Moses Oloya), Hassan Wasswa, Murushid Jjuuko, Godfrey Walusimbi – Khalid Aucho, Geoffrey ‘Baba’ Kizito, Tonny Mawejje – Farouk Miya (Nicholas Wadada 81′), Joseph Ochaya, Geoffrey Massa (Mohammed Shaban 65’)


Header advertisement
To Top