Afcon 2017: Club-less Adebayo Named in Togo 25-Man Provisional Squad

Uganda Cranes players husstle with the Sparrow defenders in a previous match. Both teams qualified as best runners up.

Togo national team boss Claude Le Roy has released a 25-man provisional squad from which he will select his finest 23 for the Africa Cup of Nations in Gabon.

Togo qualified to the continental showpiece as the best placed second runners up and are pooled in Group B with champions Ivory Coast, website like this DR Congo and Morocco.

Team captain Emmanuel Sheyi Adebayor is among the list named despite suffering about six months in the cold without a club after English side Crystal Palace opted not to renew his contract at the end of last season.

Header advertisement

Le Roy has made a wild inclusion in midfielder Victor Nukafu who plays for Entente II, a second division club in the Togolese football ranks.

The Sparrow Hawks begin their campaign on Monday 16 January with the defending winners Ivory Coast followed by Morocco four days later, same duration to their group climax against DR Congo. The first two will be hosted at Oyem and the last in Port-Gentil.

Only two players will be dropped from the squad to make up the 23 for the finals.

Togo provisional squad.

Goalkeepers: Tchagouni (FC Marmande, France), Cédric Mensah (Le Mans, France), Kossi Agassa (club Less)

Defenders: Serge Akakpo (Trabzonspor, Turkey), Hakim Ouro -Sama (AS Togo Port, Dyto), Gafar Mamah (Dacia, Moldova), Vincent Bossou (Young Africans, Tanzania), Sadat Ouro-Akoriko (Al Khaleej, Saudi Arabia); Dakeneam (Saint-Trond, Belgium), Joseph Douhadji (Rivers United, Nigeria)

Midfielders: Matthieu Dossevi (Standard Liège, Belgium), Serge Gakpe (Genoa, Italy), Ihlas Bebou (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany), Floyd Ayité (Fulham, England), Henriques Eninful (Doxa, Cyprus), Lalawele Atakora (Helsingborgs, Sweden), Prince Segbefia (Goztepe, Turkey), Alaixys Romao (Olympiacos, Greece),  Franco Atchou (Dyto, Togo), Victor Nukafu (Entente II, Togo)

Forwards: Emmanuel Adebayor (Club less), Komlan Agbeniadan (WAFA, Ghana), Razak Boukari (Chateauroux, France), Fo Doh Laba (Berkane, Morocco)


Header advertisement
To Top