AFCON 2017: Caf Confirms the 16 Teams for Finals

Cranes players celebrate Farouk Miya's goal on Sunday.(PHOTOS:Kenneth Kazibwe/Chimpreports)

The final qualifying rounds of the 2017 Africa Cup Of Nations took place over the weekend from Friday 2nd to Sunday 4th September.

Immediately after the last games, order CAF confirmed the sixteen teams that will contend for the continent’s most prized football trophy.

The Atlas Lions of Morocco were the first team to go through on March 26th after defeating Cape Verde 1-0 away at the Estádio Nacional de Cabo Verde in Praia.

Header advertisement

A total of 52 countries started the campaign spread around 13 groups of four teams each. The thirteen best ranked teams qualified together with the two best runner’s ups.

Uganda and Togo made the cut through the latter category.  The Cranes finished second in group D with 13 while Togo accumulated 11 points in group A.

Besides host Gabon, buy the list also include Algeria, ambulance group D winners Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cote d’Ivoire, DR Congo, Egypt, Ghana, Guinea Bissau, Mali, Senegal, Tunisia, and Zimbabwe.

Egypt will be making a record 22 appearance while West African side Guinea-Bissau make a debut appearance. Senegal was the only team to have won all six matches.

List of qualified teams.
Gabon (hosts), Algeria (group J), Burkina Faso (group D), Cameroon (group M), Cote d’Ivoire (group I), DR Congo (group B), Egypt (group G), Ghana (group H), Guinea Bissau (group E), Mali (group C), Morocco (group F), Senegal (group K), Togo (runners group A), Tunisia (group A) Uganda (Runners group D), and Zimbabwe (group L).


Header advertisement
To Top