Afcon 2017: 27 Players Commence Cranes Final Preparations Phase

Uganda Cranes coach Milutin 'Micho' Sredojevic speaks to the players before starting the session.

The Uganda Cranes squad training for the 2017 Total Africa Cup of nations kick started their final set of preparations on Monday morning.

Only 27 players out of the forty summoned for this phase were present as they begun with a gym session at Paradise Fitness Gym.

The players later trained for a short time at the Kabira Country Club in Bukoto before entering camp at the Serene Suites in Mutundwe.

“Impressed with commitment and dedication of all players to prove point and justify inclusion in UG CRANES by fighting for the places in final 23 team, ailment ” Coach Micho tweeted after the sessions.

Sweden based defender Ronald Mukiibi who plays for Ostersunds FK, find Yunus Ssentamu, Dennis Iguma, Godfrey Walusimbi and Shafiq Batambuze are among the foreign based players who graced the session.

List of players that kicked off preparations on Monday

Goalkeepers: Isma Watenga (Vipers), Benjamin Ochan (KCCA )

Defenders: Ronald Mukiibi (Östersunds FK, Sweden), Denis Iguma (Al Ahed, Lebanon), Joseph Nsubuga (SC Villa), Halid Lwaliwa, Nicholas Wadada -(Vipers), Timothy Awany Joseph Ochaya -(KCCA), Shafiq Batambuze (Tusker, Kenya), Isaac Isinde, Richard Kassaga (URA), Rashid Toha (Onduparaka,)

Midfielders: Hassan Wasswa, Kizito Kezironi -(Vipers), Paul Mucurezi, Muzamiru Mutyaba (KCCA,  ), Saddam Juma (Express), Godfrey Walusimbi (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Martin Kizza , Vitalis Tabu – (SC Villa).

Strikers: Geofrey Sserunkuma, Derrick Nsibambi -(KCCA), Muhammed Shaban (Onduparaka), Yunus Sentamu (Ilves, Finland), Edrisa Lubega (Proline), Erisa Ssekisambu (Vipers)

Missing lot.
Dennis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns, S. Africa), Jamal Salim (El Merreikh, Sudan), Paul Mucuurezi (KCCA), Robert Odonkara, Yassar Mugerwa -(St. Georges, Ethiopia), Murshid Jjuko (Simba SC, Tanzania), Khalid Aucho (Baroka FC, S. Africa), Mike Azira (Colorado Rapids, USA), Farouk Miya (St, Liege, Belgium),Tonny Mawejje (Prottur, Iceland), Geoffrey Kizito (Than Quanh Ninh, Vietnam),William Luwagga (Rio Ave, Portugal), Moses Oloya (Ha Noi T & T, Vietnam).


Header advertisement
To Top