Mangat Wins MPU Masaka Rally

approved geneva; color: #333333;”>Mangat took a 10-second lead over Ronald Ssebuguzi from day one and clocked 1 hour, 47 minutes and 28 seconds to finish ahead of Ronald Ssebuguzi.

Now the National Rally Championship (NRC) title is in Mangat’s reach after the victory helped him close the gap on leader Ssebuguzi to just one point with four NRC events to go so far. “I am happy to have won my first event [of the season],” Mangat said.

“I was unlucky not to have won in Mbarara. But I am now back in contention to defend my title,” he added after clinching his second rally win in 2013.

“I know I have not won this rally (MPU Challenge rally) but I have managed to top the NRC, and I am more than ready to face any challenge in the remaining events. Today I had a problem of the navigator he wasn’t good enough for victory but Cedric (Buzabo) will be back in the next event,” Ronald Ssebuguzi lamented after his second place finish.

Bashir Mbogo navigated for the NRC log leader in Masaka.

Ponsiano Lwakataka led the national standings prior to the rally but his omission at the last hour after delaying to present his car for checkup in time got him disqualified and overhauled by Ssebuguzi from top to fourth place in the NRC standings.

More drama ensured when; Nasser Mutebi as route opener failed to get to start line, Susan Muwonge without a clear reason never started day 2, John Consta blew engine, Fitidis takes a dive into a swamp, Fred Wampamba kissed the sand Diff Lock issues , Lucky boy ran out of luck with alternator problems, Ismael Ortega and Leon Ssenyange failed to finish a rally for the second time and Shafik Ssemuju’s car couldn’t restart in the last section however veteran Hajji Abdul Mambo in Toyota Golf made the finish line.

Five spectators are still receiving treatment at Masaka Regional Referral Hospital after a makeshift pavilion they stood on collapsed on Saturday while the other 22 more had been discharged by press time. Police said the pavilion was filled beyond capacity.

MPU Coca-Cola Rally


Jas Mangat 01:47.28

Ronald Ssebuguzi 01:49.03

Duncan Mubiru 01:52.15

Arthur Blick 02:02.23

Omar Mayanja 02:03.52

Edson Mungyereza 02:29.19

Abdu Mambo 02:33.59

Jonas Kansiime 02:50.00

Ismail Ortega 02:54.19

Abdu Kateete 03:22.22

P. Ssebambulidde 03:35.05


Ronald Ssebuguzi 186 points

Jas Mangat 185

Duncan Mubiru 171

Ponsiano Lwakataka 164

Arthur Blick 118

Omar Mayanja 115


Header advertisement
To Top