Uganda Uproar As Gov’t Moves To Create 25 New Districts


web geneva; font-size: small;”>The enraged citizens blamed Cabinet for not carrying out consultations with relevant stakeholders before tabling in a motion that seeks to create the districts on Wednesday.

Header advertisement

information pills geneva; font-size: small;”>Asinja tweeted: “Since the goal is to deliver service nearer to every Ugandan here is a modest proposal: make each household a district.”

Sieitai also tweeted: Kenya should be worried, we are coming for Migingo too, to make it a district of course.”

Ugandans said instead of spending money on districts, government should increase salaries for teachers and doctors.

They expressed fury that priority areas were being deliberately ignored by government at the expense of pleasing rural dwellers for political gain.

Others wondered why government was pushing for more districts yet public medical facilities lack adequate manpower, drugs and equipment.

The districts to be created in four different phases include Kagadi and Kakumiro both curved out of Kibaale district, whose creation is effective July 1, 2012.

If Parliament approves the motion as tabled by Local Government Minister Adolf Mwesige the total number of districts will increase from 112 to 137.Seven of the proposed new districts including Omoro, Namisindwa, Pakwach, Butebo, Rukiga, Rubanda,and Kyotera will become effective July,1 2013.

The districts of Kyadondo,Nabilatuk,Bugweri, Kasanda,Bunyangabu,Kwania,and Kapelebyong will commence in July 2014, while Obongi,Kazo, Rwampara, Kitagwenda, Kikuube,Madi-Okollo and Kihiihi districts are scheduled to commence operations in July 2015.

Mwesige says the creation of more districts would enhance effective administration of those areas and that the move was aimed at bringing services closer to the people.

He further told Parliament that government also plans to create two new districts to be curved out of the current Kasese district after consultations with the district leadership and interest groups on the name, boundaries and their headquarters.

He confirmed that funds to operationalise all the new districts in a phased manner are available.

The headquarters of each new district which is not yet a town council shall become a town council as provided for in the Local Governments Act.

The Deputy Speaker of Parliament Rt. Hon. Oulanyah Jacob has directed the Parliamentary Committee on Local Government to scrutinize the motion and report back to Parliament in seven days.


Header advertisement
To Top