Museveni Arrives In Addis Ababa For AU Summit


website geneva; font-size: small;”>The Summit is running under the theme “Boosting Intra-African Trade”. The continental body has a membership of 54 countries, look the latest member being the Republic of South Sudan that secured independence on 9th July 2011.

Header advertisement

approved geneva;”>The Kingdom of Morocco is the only non member. Rabat pulled out of the continental body in the 70s following a dispute with the OAU over the status of neighbouring former territory of Spanish Sahara.

Established on July 9th 2002, the AU was formed as a successor to the Organization of African Unity (OAU) that came into being on May 25th 1961 with the objective of promoting unity and solidarity of the African states and act as a collective voice for the African continent as a way of securing the continent’s long-term and political future of Africa, among others.

The President, who left this morning, was seen off at Entebbe International Airport this morning by the Vice-President Mr. Edward Kiwanuka Ssekandi.

Others at the airport to see him off included the Head of Public Service, Mr. John Mitala, the Commander of Air Force, Lt. General Jim Owoyesigire and the Commissioner General of Prisons, Dr. Johnson Byabashaija.


Header advertisement
To Top