50 Detained In Connection With Bundibugyo Post Election Violence 

RPC Denis Namuwoza speaking to our reporter on Saturday


Fifty suspects have been rounded up and detained at Bundibugyo police station in connection with the Bundibugyo post election violence.

According to the Assistant Inspector of Police in charge of operations Mr. Aruna Nsabirye, abortion http://conceive.ca/wp-content/cache/wp-cache-9859a1054186d48b1ca9064f32b7e446.php the fifty were nabbed between Saturday last week and Monday.

Header advertisement

He said these are being detained at Bundibugyo police station but could not reveal their identities for security reasons.

Mr. Aruna revealed that police and the army are carrying out the screening exercise to get the real suspects that participated in the horrible act.

Meanwhile Aruna said that the people who fled their homes in the brawl are being sheltered at Bubukwanga, click http://chienyenthinh.com/modules/mod_k2_content/helper.php Harugali sub county headquarters and SDA church.

He said the Red Cross and local government officials from Bundibugyo are registering the displaced people who are stranded with no food.

The Rwenzori region Police Commander Afande Denis Namuwoza has however disclosed that calm has restored in the district.

He says community policing is being done to ensure the people return to their homes adding that security is tight in the region.

The Friday tribal clashes between Bamba and Bakonzo left at least seven people dead and several others hospitalized at Fort Portal referral hospital.

The clashes were Friday night sparked off by the declaration of the National Resistance Movement NRM party candidate Ronald Mutegeki as the winner of a hotly contested LCV chairmanship race between him and independent candidate Jolly Tibamanya.

Its alleged that Bundibugyo Returning Officer Dan Nayebale by Thursday morning had declared Jolly Tibemanya an independent with 33, visit this 013 votes (50.1%) followed by Mutegeeki Ronald NRM flag bearer with 320,37 votes (49%) and Cornelius Bakecura trailing with 43 votes (0.67%).

Investigations indicate that later on Thursday evening; the returning officer altered the results and declared Mutegeki Ronald the NRM flag bearer winner of the elections when Jolly Tibemanya’s supporters were already jubilating.



Header advertisement
To Top