2011 Young Achievers Finalists Receive Cash Prizes Today

discount geneva; font-size: small;”>“The money is a reward for their innovation and demonstration of excellence, prostate ” said Awel Uwihanganye, YAA director.

The YAA was first held in 2009 with an objective of rewarding innovation and excellence of the Ugandan youth. It has steadily grown into one of the best platforms to showcase youth enterprise and innovation.

As opposed to the past where each category had one winner, last year five individuals were recognised from each of the nine categories that included sports, business, ICT, and Entertainment among others with one overall winner as the Young Achiever of the Year.

Nelson Tugume, the proprietor of Nela Motors, and the brain behind Inspire Africa, emerged as the Overall Young Achiever 2011.

At the gala, all 46 finalists received accolades and certificates in recognition of their achievements. YAA lives in the hope that someday the initiative will have adequate funding to substantially support the projects of future finalists.

H.E Paul Kagame the president of Rwanda, who was the key note speaker at the 2011 awards ceremony on December 11, received the Life Time Achievement Award for his deliberate and overt support to the youth with responsibility and opportunity.

The life time achievement award is given to an outstanding senior citizen who has greatly achieved and inspired the young generation to desire for change and a better life, work for it and appreciates the consequences for the processes involved. It also recognises those that have made great sacrifice and service towards Nation building.

Previously, the award has been presented to H.E Yoweri Kaguta Museveni, Mrs. Noerina Kaleeba a renowned HIV/AIDS activist, and Prof. Senteza Kajubi, a renowned educationist.


Header advertisement
To Top