Basket Ball

2017 Friday Night Lights Expands to 10 Teams

Friday  Night Lights(FNL) will be running for the 7th year

The highly anticipated basketball preseason tournament, sickness the Friday Night Lights (FNL) returns for the 7th year running bigger and better.

The 7th edition was officially launched on Wednesday at Dinners’ lounge in Bukoto with the fun filled event expected to run between 10th March – 7th May 2017.

This year’s FNL has expanded to ten teams an addition of two from the 2016 edition.

Header advertisement

Tom Ochamuringa, the FNL managing director believes the expansion will create more fun and entertainment.

“FNL is about fun and enjoying not competition,so the expansion is aimed at bringing more entertainment,” he said.

The 10 teams were selected after a process where fans were requested to vote for a star player and those with majority votes were considered for this year’s event.

Only 4 of the 8 teams that took part in season 6 return this year with defending champions Team O’team led by City Oilers’ Otim Jonah, Team Enabu (Jimmy Enabu), Team Wazee (for the veteran players) and Team Blick (Norman Blick).

The teams that have been dropped include; team KBOB (Ben Komakech), Team Kami (Kami Kabangu), Team Ikong (Joseph Ikong) and Team Amoding (Maureen Amoding).

Team Saudi led by KIU Titian’s Ssudi Ulanga returns after missing out on last year.

KCCA Leopard’s point guard Flavia Oketcho will lead Team Flirsh, one of the two teams captained by a lady. The other female skippered team is Team Ayo captained by UCU lady Canons Judith Nansobya.

The other new teams include; Team Fahmy (captained by Betway Power’s Fahmy Ssebatindira), Team McGyver led by Brian Odong (Power), and Team Makiadi headed by Mike Makiadi also from Betway Power.

Format of play

Every team must have 3 players from the National Basketball League (NBL), 2 ladies, 3 fans, 2 players from the D- League and a player from the lower league.

A team must have at least one female player on court at the time of play.

The games will be played for 30 minutes with two halves of 15 minutes each.

The games will be played on Fridays at either YMCA outdoor court or MTN Arena Lugogo with at least two games up to the knock out stage.

The ten teams will be split into two groups of five and the top 4 will qualify for the quarter finals after a round robin format.

The winning team in each game will walk away with a cash prize of UGX 300,000 while the overall winner will get UGX 3M.

Team O’Team are the defending champions after defeating Team Blick.

Past winners

2016- Team O’Team

2015- Team Amoding

2014- Team Ikong

2013- Team Amoding

2012- Team Ikong

2011- Team Ikong


Header advertisement
To Top