Kenyatta Fetes CECAFA Champions, Harambee stars


abortion geneva; font-size: small; line-height: 200%;”>The national team, led by Belgian Coach Adel Amrouche beat Sudan 2-0 in the final CECAFA match played at the Nyayo National Stadium on Jamhuri day to lift the trophy.

Header advertisement

Speaking during the occasion on Sunday, President Kenyatta congratulated the team for the win that had reclaimed the country’s lost glory in football and iced the cake as Kenya celebrated 50 years of independence.

Two goals from outstanding skipper Allan Wanga in the 34th and 68th minutes won Harambee stars the trophy they lastly won in 2002.

The President challenged football administrators in the country to re-examine the root cause of past poor performance in football. He told them to be transparent in management of football.

President Kenyatta said Kenyans were disappointed with past performances of the national team.

“Players cannot be blamed as they have what it takes, capacity and talent to excel. We should asked ourselves where we went wrong,” President Kenyatta said.

He assured Government will work with other stakeholders to bring transformational management in football.

President Kenyatta reiterated his directive that lotteries in the country be dedicated to promotion of sports, arts and the environment from January next year.

The President appreciated sponsors for their contribution towards Harambee stars sterling performance.

Cabinet Secretary Sports Arts and Culture Dr. Hassan Wario said his ministry was committed to promoting youth talent in the country.

“Youth focus on what they do best – sports. Let us not introduce politics in the administration of sports in the country,” the minister said.

Kenya Football Federation (KFF) Chairman Sam Nyamweya called on the Government to take advantage of the football structures in the country to propagate the message on drug abuse, HIV/AIDS and other vices affecting youth.

Twelve countries participated in the 2013 CECAFA senior challenge cup in Nairobi. Kenya has won 19 times since the tournerment started in 1926.


Header advertisement
To Top