Uganda Retains Inter-Parliamentary Games Trophy


seek geneva; font-size: small; line-height: 200%;”>In a game played at Nakivubo on Saturday, about it Uganda defeated East African Legislative Assembly (EALA) in the finals to re-lift the trophy in the presence of President Museveni.

Header advertisement

page geneva; color: #222222;”>Uganda won 3-0 with two goals coming from Kampala Central MP, Mohamed Nsereko, plus one from the team captain, Patrick Nsanja, crowning Uganda parliament the champions of this year.

Nsereko finished the tournament with five goals making him the top scorer and hence carrying home a golden boot.

Mohamed Nsereko (red) who finished as top scorer with five goals

“We worked for this and regardless of our belonging in terms of political parties; team work helped us to retain the trophy. If we are to have the same spirit next year, we shall defend the trophy once more,” said team captain, Patrick Nsanja.

“We have the best and strongest team in the region, otherwise, I can say this year’s tournament was a walk over,” he added.

Uganda played four games, scored 10 goals and conceded one goal in the Rwanda game that ended 2-1.

In the third place play-offs, Rwanda lost to Kenya 1-0 as Uganda also lost 35-32 in favour of Tanzania in the game of netball.

Uganda team that won this year’s parliamentary games

Meanwhile, Nsereko had a chance to shake hands with President Museveni after being dismissed from the ruling party (National Resistance Movement).


Header advertisement
To Top