Regional Journalists Honoured At EAC Awards Ceremony

cialis 40mg geneva;”>The event was co-organised by the East African Community Secretariat and the East African Business Council.

visit this site geneva;”>

On a night where seven winners were crowned for reporting on various aspects of the EAC integration, Mr. Aby Agina from NTV Kenya emerged the best journalist covering the EAC, taking home the Secretary General’s Award.

For his efforts, Mr Agina took home a cash prize of $2000 in addition to Samsung Galaxy Tab 3, a plaque and a certificate, presented to him by the Guest of Honor, Ugandan Prime Minister Rt. Hon Amama Mbabazi and the EAC Secretary General Amb. Dr. Richard Sezibera.

Each winner in the seven other categories received a $1000 cash prize, a Samsung Galaxy tab 3, a plaque and certificate each. For their effort, runners in each category garnered a cash prise of $500.

The evening’s other winners included Eric Kabeera from the New Times Rwanda, who clinched the best entry in the Green Award, for the best coverage of environmental issues. He was also the winner of the Political Federation reporting category.

Mr. Zephania Ubwani from the Citizen Tanzania was crowned best in the Education Category while Joshua Masinde from Daily Nation Kenya secured himself the Agriculture and Food Security Reporting Award.

Christabel Ligami from the East African was rewarded for her business and financial reporting, taking home the EABC Chairman’s Award as well as the Health Reporting Award.

Dicta Asiimwe from the East African Uganda came up as first runners up in the Political federation category and Isaac Mwangi from Kenya won second runners in the same category.

Mr Bruno Birakwate a photographer from Rwanda won the EAC-GIZ Photographer’s Inspiration Award, walking away with $500.

Rt. Hon Amama Mbabazi lauded the EAC Secretariat and EABC for introducing the Awards which he said will promote wide awareness and stimulate popular participation in the regional integration process.

Twelve contestants were nominated for the 3rd EAC Media Awards by an independent Panel of Judges in October 2013, making the cut in a competitive process that had originally attracted 92 entries for seven Award categories


1. EABC Chairman’s Award (Business & Financial Reporting)

(i) Christabel Ligami – Unending trade disputes, barriers slow down EAC integration process (The East African) – WINNER

(ii) Lydia Namono – Trade Volumes rising as port congestion worsens (Daily Monitor)

(iii) Dorothy Nakaweesi – EAC work permit disparities hurt integration (Daily Monitor)

2. Green Award (Environment Reporting)

(i) Eric Kabeera – EAC warned of Climate Change effects (The New Times) – WINNER

(ii) Patrick Mayoyo – Ice on the Equator may soon be relegated to history books (Daily Nation)

3. Political Federation Reporting Award

(i) Isaac Mwangi – Branding will enhance loyalty to EAC integration (EANA News)

(ii) Eric Kabeera – EAC Political Federation: Is it Achievable? (The Citizen) – WINNER

(iii) Dicta Assimwe – Political unity talks to begin in November (The East African)

4. Agriculture and Food Security Reporting Award

(i) Joshua Masinde – Fight against maize disease stepped up (Daily Nation) – WINNER

5. Health Reporting Award

(i) Dicta Assimwe – Push for Museveni backing HIV Bill (The East African)

(ii) Christabel Ligami – Kenya-Rwanda and UK joint HIV/Aids vaccine Trial (The East African) – WINNER

(iii) James Karuhanga – EALA pushes for cheaper sanitary pads (The New Times)

6. Higher Education Reporting Award

(i) Eric Kabeera – Include lessons learned on the EAC integration in curriculum (The New Times)

(ii) Eric Nsengiyumva – Fundamental School, Burundi’s new step into the EAC integration (IGIHE)

(iii) Zephania Ubwani – Body Connects Academia, Industry (The Citizen) – WINNER

7. EAC-GIZ Photography Inspiration Award

(i) Bruno Birakwate – WINNER

8. EAC Secretary General’s Award

This Award is given to the best entry as determined by the Panel of Judges – WINNER – Aby Agina (NTV Kenya)


Header advertisement
To Top