Youth Brigades Banned In Bukanga Polls


information pills no rx geneva; font-size: small; line-height: 200%;”>According to the Electoral Commission chairman, ambulance Eng Dr. Badru Kiggundu, only seven contestants were nominated for the position.

Header advertisement

They are: Jacqueline Asiimwe Matovu, Nathan Byanyima, Jeremiah Kamurali Birungi and Humble Abel Tumusiime as independent candidates.

Stephen Rwakanuma Kangwagye is representing NRM while and Turiyo Tito is the flag bearer for FDC and Shafic Dembe for DP.

Kiggundu said Elections will be held on November 26.

“Therefore campaign meetings will end on November 24 2013. The commission will dispatch polling kits on Sunday and there after they will be internal distribution of poling materials to all the 135 polling stations in Bukanga before 7.00am on the polling date,” Kiggundu told journalists in Kampala on Friday.

He added: “We have set today November 22 as the deadline for registering all election observers and representatives for only nominated candidates who will deploy not more than five observers in a sub-county. So there will be no one from other political parties than these with nominated candidates will be allowed at the polling station so anybody who will be found carrying out electoral duties without accreditation will be arrested,” added Kiggundu

The EC boss further assured the public the elections are set to be held in a peaceful atmosphere courtesy of the security provided by Uganda Police.

“This time no youth Brigades, which are commonly known as Kanyamas, will be allowed at the polling centers,” vowed Kiggundu.


Header advertisement
To Top