Bukanga Parliamentary By-Election Plan Finalised

Header advertisement

According to the electoral commission chairman, Eng Dr Badru Kiggundu, only seven contestants were nominated for this parliamentary seat with Jackline Asiimwe Matovu, Nathan Byanyima, Jeremiah Kamurali Birungi, Abel Tumusiime Humble as independent candidates; Stephen Kangwagye Rwakanuma for NRM, Tito Turiyo for FDC and Shafic Dembe for DP.

However, two candidates that is Apollo Arinaitwe for NRM and Francis Kanyamuhanga, an independent, were nominated for directly elected councilors for Endiizi Parish.

Edward Musiime Katasigaire for FDC and Williams Sande were nominated for directly elected councilors to represent Rwanjogyera parish in Endiizi Sub county, Isingiro district.

However, Annet Tumushabe for NRM District women councilor Endiizi sub county isingiro district and Kanyeisgye Jastina Jessica also for NRM councilor for women Endiizi parish, were also declared elected unopposed.

Kiggundu remarked that “Elections will be held on Tuesday November 26, therefore, campaign meetings will end on November 24, the commission will dispatch polling kits on that day and thereafter, there will be internal distribution of polling materials to all the 135 polling stations in Bukanga before 7.00am on the polling date”.

“We have set today the Friday November 22, the deadline for registering all elections observers and representatives for only nominated candidates who will deploy not more than five observers in a sub county,” Kiggundu observed.

He then added: “So, there will be no one from other political parties than these with nominated candidates who will be allowed at the polling station. Anybody found carrying out electoral duties without accreditation will be prosecuted.”

Kiggundu has further assured the public that the elections are going to be held in a peaceful atmosphere by the security provided by Uganda Police.

“This time, no youth Brigades, commonly known as Kanyamas, will be allowed at the polling centers,” Kiggundu comfirmed.

The Bukanga by-election follows the death of Gregory Matovu who represented the area in parliament for the last three years.


Header advertisement
To Top