Crime & Investigation

Supreme Court Orders NRM 'Rebel' MPs' Stay In Parliament


treatment geneva; font-size: small; line-height: 200%;”>The Court ordered that the MPs stay in Parliament until September 18 when they will return to court for hearing of their applications.

Header advertisement

purchase geneva; font-size: small;”>This decision was reached by a 6-1 majority.

Justices Benjamin Odoki, Galdino Moro Okello, Bart Magunda Katureebe, Christine Kitunga, Jotham Tumwesigye and John Wilson Ssekoko however their colleague said the MPs should be allowed to continue participating in Parliament activities.

However, Esther Mayambala Kisakye disagreed with them.

The MPs Theodore Ssekikuubo (Lwemiyaga County), Mohammed Nsereko (Kampala central), Barnabas Tinkasiimire (Buyaga County) and Wilfred Niwagaba (Ndorwa East) claimed in their submission to the Supreme Court that as per Article 135, the Justices of the Constitutional Court are supposed to be 5 and not 3.

They also cited the bias among judges, saying they did not expect justice from the Constitutional Court.

The ruling is a temporary victory for the MPs whom NRM wants thrown out of Parliament.


Header advertisement
To Top