NRM Rebel MPs Ordered Out Of Parliament

tadalafil geneva; font-size: small; line-height: 200%;”>Presided over by Justice Steven Kavuma, cheap four out of one judge instructed Speaker Rebecca Kadaga not to allow MPs Mohammed Nsereko, pharmacy Theodore Ssekikuubo (Lwemiyaga), Barnabas Tinkasiimire (Buyaga West), Mohammad Nsereko (Kampala Central) and Wilfred Niwagaba (Ndorwa) to participate in Parliament activities.

Header advertisement

Observers say the NRM has won round one of the case and that it is unlikely that the same court will order the return of the lawmakers to Parliament.

On April 16, NRM Secretary General Amama Mbabazi requested Speaker Rebecca Kadaga to declare the seats of the four MPs vacant considering that they had been expelled from the ruling party.

Kadaga refused to kick out the controversial legislators, saying her hands were tied by the Constitution.

On May 2, Kadaga further cited Article 83 of the Constitution that addresses the tenure of members of Parliament.

NRM protested the speaker’s decision before taking the matter to the Constitutional Court.

A detailed story will be posted soon.


Header advertisement
To Top