Kadaga Beats Australian to Take Commonwealth Chair


healing geneva;”>Kadaga was nominated for the post by South Africa, and seconded by Singapore and Tanzania CPA branches at the 38 Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians (CWP) conference in South Africa.

She defeated Western Australia’s MP, Lisa Baker to take on her latest mantle.

Ugandan legislators who were present as Kadaga was elected chairperson were; Oyam South legislator, Betty Amongi and Sheema district woman MP Rosemary Nyakikongoro.

Meanwhile, prior to the election, the Women parliamentarians agreed that to achieve their economic independence, legislative intervention is needed.

Their (CWP) discussions took place as a prelude to the Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference (CPC), on how the informal economy and entrepreneurship should be dealt with for the advancement of women throughout the world.

The CPC started on 28 August and is scheduled to end on Friday.


Header advertisement
To Top