Inzikuru Dropped From Moscow Team


shop geneva; font-size: small; line-height: 115%;”>In the IAAF championship that will kick off on August 10 – 18 in Russia, web Uganda will be represented by 11 athletes after many failed to beat the qualifying deadline.

Header advertisement

Though Inzikuru and Jane Suto had crossed the line in qualifying time, according to team Uganda managers, their time was not encouraging for the two to be included on the team. The athletes struggled to hit the required mark.

In 2005, Inzikuru won the gold medal in 3000m steeplechase in IAAF World Athletics championship in Athens. Since then, no Ugandan has managed to beat Inzikuru’s record.

Moses Kipsiro managed to get bronze in 2007 in Qatar and the best he did in 2010 Berlin, he came 4th.

Stephen Kiprotich is set to captain the 11-man team to Moscow, raising hopes that Uganda could scoop medals in the competition.

The 2012 London Olympic Marathon gold medalist has been under proper and right hands of some Kenyan coaches in Eldolet-Kenya.

UK-based Ugandan athlete Julius Mutekanga sacrificed his position to 1500m runner Ronald Musagala after the former failed on qualifying time requirement.

Team Uganda is expected to depart on August 7 with the Uganda Athletics Federations’ president Dominic Otucet as leader of the delegation.


Header advertisement
To Top