MPs Who Voted, Rejected Aronda's Appointment Revealed


order geneva;”>After the Parliament’s Appointment Committee consulted with legal experts on Thursday, majority of the members voted in favour of Aronda to be appointed minister without first resigning.

However, a close source revealed that members of the legal minds from the Law Society and Parliament’s directorate of legal department had advised the committee that Aronda first resign from the army before taking the position.

They were strongly supported by the opposition and independent MPs.

The legal experts from the government side led by Attorney General, Peter Nyombi did not agree with them. “There is no law that bars a serving army officer from being appointed minister.”

The ruling National Resistance Movement MPs equally applauded and supported the government side.

Most of the independent MPs led by Hon. Owor Otada decided to move a motion for the committee to refer the matter to the whole house.

The Speaker of Parliament, Hon. Rebecca Kadaga who was chairing the committee decided to ask members to adopt the primary school style and by show of hands decide for the day.

Among the 17 eligible voters, 13 members said yes, meaning there is no problem with Aronda becoming minister before resigning from the army.

However, five MPs rejected the appointment and insisted that Aronda must first retire from the army and one person from NRM abstained voting.

Shadow Attorney General Abdu Katuntu argued that the move was unconstitutional.

Ironically members including Gen. Elly Tumwine who earlier disagreed with President Museveni voted among the 13 members who voted yes.

Gen. Elly Tumwine (Non Partisan) UPDF

Mathius Masamba (NRM) Kakuto

Dorothy Mpiima (NRM) Buikwe Woman MP

Patrick Nakabale (NRM) Youth Central

Sentongo Nabulya (NRM) Workers MP

Milton Muwuma (NRM) Kigulu South

David Ochwa (NRM) Agule

Simon Peter Aleper (NRM) Moroto

Hood Katuramu (NRM) PWDs

Victoria Businge (NRM) Fort-Portal

Lowila Oketayot CD(NRM) Pader

Paula Turayihakayo (NRM) Rubabo

Rosemary Nyakikongoro (Independent) Sheema

And those who vehemently rejected led by Lukyamuzi are

Ken Lukyamuzi (CP) Rubaga South

Nandala Mafabi (FDC) Budadiri West

Betty Amongi (UPC) Oyam South

Aol Betty Ocan (FDC) Gulu

Mpuuga Mathius (Indep) Masaka Municipality

Owor Otada (Independent) Kibanda

Only one member, Stephen Kasaija Kagerwa (NRM) of Burahya abstained from voting.


Header advertisement
To Top