Rugby Cranes Carry Millet To Madagascar


capsule site geneva;”>CAR tournament

sick geneva; color: #414141;”>Wednesday

Uganda v Kenya 12.30pm

Zimbabwe v Madagascar 2.30pm

Sunday July 14

12.30pm: 3rd Play-off

4:30Pm: Final

The Cranes are not about to take any chances this time around when they take over foes Kenya in the Confederation of African (CAR) Cup semis on Wednesday; to the effect, team manager Brain Tabaruka has carried local food including millet, maize flour and beans among others to feed the Cranes.

Uganda face Kenya in the semifinals of the CAR Cup, or rather Africa Cup, on Wednesday with the winner advancing to play either Zimbabwe or Madagascar in Sunday’s final.

Tabaruka’s plan seems to avoid the Uganda rugby Cranes from being confined to the low carbohydrate containing Madagascar rice and meat dishes. Their dishes are invariably based around rice. The national dish is called Ramazava and is made from beef (zebu) and mixed greens sauteed with ginger tomato and onion.

The 24-man delegation that was hosted to a flag-off dinner at Kyadondo Rugby Football Club by URU and Friends of Rugby travelled on Sunday via Nairobi on the same Kenya Airways flight with the Kenya Lions Enroute Madagascar.

Kenya last month emerged overall winners of the Elgon Cup, the annual two-legged fixture played since 2004 but that has nothing to do with Wednesday’s Africa cup semi-final clash as Uganda has often had an upper hand.

The team that lost 19-13 at Kyadondo has been boosted by the return of experienced and energetic Cameroonian-born Solomon Mawanda, Ronald Adigas and Winger Felix Lubega while injured captain Mathias Ochwo and his assistant Alex Mubiru have been replaced by Micheal Wakorach.

The top three teams will qualify to the final stage of the 2015 Rugby World Cup qualifiers that kick-off next year.

Team: Ronald Adigasi, Solomon Mawanda, Paul Serunjogi, Romano Ogwal, Dennis Mullo, Scot Oluoch, Timothy Mudoola, Brian Jemba, Andrew Olweny, Joel Anguyo, Oscar Kalyango, Micheal Wokorach, Justin Kimono, Jonathan Onen, Benon Kizza, Marvin Odongo, Mugerwa Asuman, Davis Kyewalabye, Dennis Mugambe, Martial Tchumkam, Robert Seguya, Joseph Aredo,Arthur Mukama and Felix Lubega

Officials: Peter Magona, Brian Tabaruka and Tony Lugya.


Header advertisement
To Top