Gov’t Loses Round One In Museveni Kampala Takeover Bill


there sales http://cmavie.tv/theliac/client/plugins/wexpay/wexpay.class.php geneva;”>The decision followed the failure by Parliament to consider and approve the Report from the Committee on Public Service and Local Government on the petition, sale http://dan-caragea.ro/wp-includes/class-wp-text-diff-renderer-table.php as some members of the committee raised doubts about the authenticity of the report.

Header advertisement

In December 2012, Kampala Lord Mayor, Mayors of Division Urban Councils and Authority Councilors through Hon. Betty Namboze Bakireke (DP, Mukono Municipality) sought the intervention of Parliament in the alleged mismanagement of KCCA.

The petition was referred to and considered by Parliament’s Committee on Public Service and Local Government, which presented its report last week.

However, a section of MPs on the Committee rejected the report, which contained a recommendation that the President takes over the management of Kampala.

In the Report, the Committee observed that the existing leadership crisis at KCCA had far reaching implication and recommended that the President exercises his responsibility provided in the Constitution and take charge of the affairs of the Capital City.

The Committee, which is chaired by Hon. Florence Kintu (NRM, Kalungu district), also recommended that the President takes over the executive and legislative functions of KCCA for a period not exceeding six months.

“Parliament may approve a longer term on request by the President if at the expiry of the six months the prevailing circumstances still make it impossible for the Authority to resume administration of the City,” reads part of the Committee Report.

A section of MPs on the Committee however said they had not been part of some of the meetings that made the recommendations and objected to Parliament considering and approving the Report.

In Thursday’s sitting, Hon. John Ssimbwa (NRM, Makindye East) proposed that the matter be referred to a select committee for consideration.

Members to serve on the Committee will be selected by party whips, as provided for in Parliament’s Rules of Procedure.


Header advertisement
To Top