FUFA Calls Emergency Press Conference As Caf Reveals Afcon 2015 Seeding


capsule geneva;”>The Cranes coaching role fell vacant with the sacking of Scotsman Bobby Williamson.

Header advertisement

shop geneva;”>

medical geneva;”>Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredojovic, who was sacked by Rwanda, is the other one strongly linked to the job though Italian Dario Bonetti, Belgian Tom Sainfeit and another Serbian Nikola Kavazovic are some of the coaches that have expressed interest in the job.

And among the several assignments for the new man in charge of Cranes will be to identify a group of experienced and youthful players who will be for both the 2014 World Cup and CHAN qualifiers due next month though it’s highly speculated the new coach won’t have a hand in naming these players after the tentative squad was selected a early last week by the Mengo administration.

Meanwhile, Confederation of African Football (Caf) has revealed the seeding for the draw for the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations holding in Morocco.

The draw will take place on March 10 in Morocco during Caf General Assembly, with the qualification procedure reverting to its normal format as opposed to the modified mode for the just-conclude edition.

The draw means the only North African opponent Cranes could draw is Tunisia, who are placed in Pot One alongside 2013 Nations Cup champions Nigeria, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Togo, Mali, South Africa, Cape Verde, DR Congo, Zambia, Tunisia, and Ghana from Pot One.

The second opponents will be drawn from pot three while the third opponents will then be known after the preliminary round.

Forty-four teams are on the starting line and seeded in four pots of 11 teams each according to their current ranking.


Pot one: Nigeria, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Togo, Mali, South Africa, Cape Verde, DR Congo, Zambia, Tunisia, Ghana.

Pot two: Egypt, Libya, Algeria, Senegal, Cameroon, Guinea, Sierra Leone, Gabon, Uganda, Congo, Central African Republic.

Pot three: Ethiopia, Benin, Angola, Niger, Zimbabwe, Equatorial, Mozambique, Malawi, Burundi, Liberia, Sudan.

Pot four: To be determined after the preliminary round.


Header advertisement
To Top